Watercolour background card
Handmade Cards

Make a Wish

I got some mini distress inks and ink blenders recently. I’ve never tried distress inks before but love some of the techniques I’ve seen demonstrated on cards and in videos. They seem really versatile and the range of colours available is great.

When they first arrived, I got them all out and played around with creating a watercolour background. I wasn’t sure what I’d use the background for, it was more about trying the inks for the first time.  As I liked the result so much, I thought it would be a waste not to make a card with it.

Distress Ink Watercolour Card

I cut the background piece to fit a square card, then die cut a butterfly from it and also the butterfly trail. I then stuck this to a card base.

I replaced the butterfly die cut in the space with a piece of foam adhesive in the middle only. I gently bent the wings of the butterfly so they stood away from the card.

I wanted to add a bit of sparkle to the card so used the Wink of Stella clear glitter brush pen on the butterfly. It’s delicate glitter and difficult to see on the photograph, but very pretty. I sprinkled some sequins about too, attaching them with liquid adhesive.

I finished the card with a stamped sentiment from Clearly Besotted. I’m really pleased with the end result, especially as I hadn’t really planned this card in advance.

Products used to make this card:

  • Distress Inks
  • Lil’ Inker Stitched Butterflies Die Set
  • Sequin Shaker Mix Blue Topaz (by Lucy Abrams)
  • Sequin Shaker Mix Glacier (by Lucy Abrams)
  • Sentiment – Clearly Besotted Dandelion Dreams stamp set
  • Watercolour paper
  • Wink of Stella Clear Brush Pen

I’m entering this card in the following competitions:

1 thought on “Make a Wish”

  1. So soft and lovely in every way! The sequins compliment the design so fabulously! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Favorite Products/Techniques” Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

