Handmade Cards

Father’s Day

I wanted to make a simple card for my Dad for Father’s Day, as a contrast to the birthday card I made for him.

Father's Day card
The technique I thought I’d like to try for this card was die cut inlays. As I hadn’t received my distress inks when I made this card (they would have been perfect for this), I used my promarkers to colour a sheet of watercolour card in different colour ombres, then die cut the stars from it.

I die cut some more stars in different sizes from a piece of watercolour card cut to fit a card blank, and attached it using liquid adhesive. I then added the coloured stars to the spaces in the card front to create the inlays.

I finished the card with a stamped sentiment cut out using my new flag die template, and some enamel dots to match the stars.

I love the simplicity of the design which allows the sentiment to stand out.

Dad – you are the best and I hope you had a lovely Father’s Day.

Products used to make this card:

  • Lil’ Inker Stitched Sentiment Flag Die
  • X-Cut Star dies
  • Promarkers
  • Dovecraft Back to Basics True Blue Enamel Dots
  • Clearly Besotted – ‘A Little Sentimental’ Stamp Set
1 thought on “Father’s Day”

Leave a Reply

