Handmade Cards

Elmer Birthday Card

My beautiful niece is 2 this month. She’s such a fun, sweet, bright girl, and I’m so proud to be her auntie.

I wanted to make her a special card for her 2nd birthday. As Elmer is a favourite of hers, I thought I’d have a go at an Elmer card.

It was a fiddly card to make but definitely worth the effort, I think.

Elmer birthday card
How I made the card:

I found an image of Elmer which I recreated as a vector in Adobe Illustrator using the pen tool. This allows me to scale the image to the correct size for the card but retain detail.

I printed out two copies on card, one with a colour code and one without. The colour coded Elmer I used as a guide to help get the colours right. I stuck down the cut out colour pieces to one of the card printouts.

I decided that it would be fun for Elmer to be floating in the sky with balloons. I created a watercolour sky with distress inks, then adding some perfect pearls mist – a new favourite of mine for adding some shimmer.

I die cut some balloons which I added glitter to with the Wink of Stella brush pen. I added a glossy accent number to the middle balloon. Then I just needed to attach the balloons to Elmer with some twine.

Products used to make this card:

  • Distress ink
  • Ranger Perfect Pearls Mist, Perfect Pearls
  • Lawn Fawn Party Balloons die set
  • Avery Elle ‘Elle-Ments Dies Count On It’
  • Dovecraft Cupcake Boutique Twine
  • Glossy accents
  • Wink of Stella glitter brush pen

I’m entering this card in the following competition:

1 thought on “Elmer Birthday Card”

  1. I absolutely love this!! It is so darling! I work in a children’s library and Elmer is a very popular character; he looks amazing paper pieced!!! I agree the effort was totally worth the outcome! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

