Handmade Cards

Hey Duggee Birthday Card 

My niece is a fan of the Hey Duggee children’s TV series. I made this card for her parents to give to her on her 2nd birthday.

hey duggee
I am so pleased with how this card came out. I love the background and how Duggee stands out against it.

How I made the card:

Similar to the Elmer card, I drew the character as a vector illustration in Adobe Illustrator. I then arranged the individual shapes out on screen, ready to print out as a template. I used textured card for the different pieces and then put it all together. It was exciting to see the character appear as each new piece was added. The googly eyes finished it off nicely.

For the background, I wanted to use bright cartoon colours. Using the distress ink blending tool, I blended a rainbow of distress ink colours, spritzed with water, and added some perfect pearls mist.

Duggee looked liked he should be holding some birthday balloons, so I die cut 3 balloons and added some glitter to them. The number has glossy accents to help it stand out.  I attached twine to the balloons, then guided the string around Duggee, attaching to the card at the knot and again beneath Duggee’s paw.

The greetings were heat embossed – I used the Versamark pen for her name, which seemed to work well. The other sentiment was stamped with Versamark Onyx Black and clear embossing powder helped to give it a glossy finish.

Products used to make this card:

  • Distress ink
  • Ranger Perfect Pearls Mist, Perfect Pearls
  • Lawn Fawn Party Balloons die set
  • Avery Elle ‘Elle-Ments Dies Count On It’
  • Lil’ Inker Stitched Sentiment Flag Die
  • Dovecraft Cupcake Boutique Twine
  • Glossy accents
  • Wink of Stella glitter brush pen
  • Versamark Ink
  • WOW embossing powder

I’m entering this card in the following competition:

1 thought on “Hey Duggee Birthday Card ”

Leave a Reply

