Handmade Cards

Happy Planet

I thought it would be fun to try some word die layering on a card. I’ve admired cards where it’s been used to good effect, but not tried myself until now.

I had sketched the idea for this card, knowing what I wanted to do but not really knowing how it would turn out. It’s good to experiment sometimes – it doesn’t always work out but I think this card turned out better than I had imagined.

A simple, sophisticated card for a man’s birthday.


How I made this card:

I die cut a circle from a piece of white cardstock and blended distress ink in chipped sapphire all over it. I then spritzed it a lot with perfect pearls mist.

At the time I thought, ‘why did I not use water colour paper?!’ But as the perfect pearls and the distress ink blended together, they created beautiful swirly metallic patterns and made the circle look like a planet. I quickly used a heat tool to dry it before the card got too soaked through.

Once dry, I die cut the word ‘happy’ from the coloured circle, putting all the pieces to one side. I then attached another piece of card behind the circle.

I die cut lots more ‘happy’ words from white cardstock, inlaying the first one in the space in the coloured card. In the spaces in and between the letters, I stuck down the coloured pieces of card.

I then layered the rest of the happy words on top of the first one, which gradually gave it a 3D appearance. Once I was pleased with the dimension, I added the final coloured ‘happy’ to the top, slightly to the right so the white layer showed behind, which helped the 3D look of the word.

The sentiment tag is heat embossed. I wanted to keep the card simple so decided to stop there.

Below is an alternative take on this design, using a stars embossing folder and watercolour paper for the circle. The watercolour paper reacted completely differently to the white cardstock I had used before. I didn’t get the same swirly patterns, so instead I added texture by dabbing the circle with a paper towel whilst it was still damp.

 

Products used to make these cards:

  • WPlus9 Happy a Trio Dies
  • Distress ink
  • Ranger Perfect Pearls Mist, Perfect Pearls
  • Versamark Ink
  • WOW embossing powder
  • Embossing folder
  • Lil’ Inker Stitched Sentiment Flag Die
Leave a Reply

