Handmade Cards

Delicate Poppies

The new ‘Delicate Poppies’ stamp set from My Favourite Things is perfect for watercolouring and I couldn’t wait to try it with my distress inks.


How I made this card:

I stamped the images in black pigment ink, then heat set them, so the ink wouldn’t run when I started painting.

I used distress ink in the colour ‘fired brick’ to watercolour the poppies. For the leaves, I used ‘evergreen bough’. Once painted, I dried everything with my heat tool, then die cut them out.

For the background, I wanted to give the suggestion of a defocused poppy field. I blended ‘evergreen bough’ and ‘spun sugar’ distress inks on watercolour paper, then lightly spritzed with water to help them blend better. Once dried, I added some water droplets, and also some watered down spots of distress ink in the colours ‘evergreen bough’ and ‘picked raspberry’.

I tried several layout ideas but settled on three flowers with stamped stems. The leaves were attached flat on the card, then I raised the flowers with foam for added dimension.

For the sentiment, I stamped in Versamark ink and heat embossed it with silver embossing powder on to a vellum strip. I then attached that to the watercolour piece.

I attached a strip of blue chevron paper to the edge of a card base. I used more foam tape to raise the watercolour piece from the card base. I finished by rounding the top corners.

Products used to make this card:

  • MFT Delicate Poppies stamps and dies
  • MFT Fresh Squeezed Chevron paper
  • MFT Birthday Greetings Stamps set
  • Distress inks – fired brick, evergreen bough, spun sugar, picked raspberry
  • Versamark ink
  • Hero Arts Silver embossing powder
  • Vellum
  • WRMK Corner Chomper


Leave a Reply

