Handmade Cards

Birthday Orchids

The new Oriental Orchid set from Altenew is very versatile. This is the second card I have made using this set, and it’s completely different from the first card.


How I made this card

I cut a piece of card using the largest stitched square from the Lawn Fawn set. I then stamped an orchid using Altenew crisp inks all over the card. These inks are lovely to stamp with and I like that they can be bought in mini packs of coordinating colours. It takes away the guess work when choosing colours.

Once I’d stamped the card, I adhered it to the front of a square card base. I added some wink of Stella clear glitter for sparkle.

I die cut a vellum circle and heat embossed a birthday greeting in gold. I attached it with glue behind the words, then attached a sprinkling of sequins.


Products used to make this card:

  • Altenew Oriental Orchid stamp set
  • Altenew crisp inks
  • Hero Arts gold embossing powder
  • Clearly Besotted sentiment from ‘It’s Your Birthday’ stamp set
  • Versamark
  • Pretty Pink Posh sequins
  • Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Square dies
  • Circle dies
  • Wink of Stella clear brush pen
  • Vellum


Leave a Reply

