Card drive, Handmade Cards

Lasting Hearts Card Drive

There is a fabulous card drive ongoing at the moment, collecting cards to be given alongside a book to parents who have lost a child in pregnancy. I cannot begin to comprehend how utterly devastating it must be to lose a child, and I hope that this campaign offers a little bit of comfort to those going through this terrible ordeal.

I’ll link at the end of this post where there are more details about this card drive, so do check it out.

This is the card I will be sending to the Lasting Hearts campaign:

How I made this card:

I stamped and white heat embossed on vellum some roses and leaves from the Clearly Besotted Sweet Roses set. On the reverse side, I coloured them in with the Zig clean colour pens. I’ve not tried colouring on vellum before but it’s a great technique which gives lovely results. I fussy cut the images out and set them aside.

Next, I die cut a large tag from MFT Fresh Squeezed Chevron paper, punched a small hole in the top, and added some twine. I also die cut a flag from white card, which I added a sentiment heat embossed in silver.

I added foam tape behind the flag, and then attached it an A6 card. I adhered the sentiment onto the tag, then arranged some flowers and leaves around the sentiment.

When it came to sticking the flowers and leaves to the card, I had planned to use multi medium matte glue, but it made the ink on the back of the vellum run, so made a mess and wasn’t really working very well. I looked through my craft stash and found some adhesive micro dots sheets, which I’d bought ages ago by mistake, when I thought they were something else. I’d put them away thinking I’d never find a use for them, but I’ve now discovered they are amazing for attaching vellum pieces to card! By adding the dots, it turns the vellum pieces into a sticker. The adhesive doesn’t show through and is very strong.

I finished the card with a few sequins among the flowers. I’m really pleased with this card, it’s simple and pretty, and I hope whoever receives it finds some comfort from it and the book it goes with.

  • Clearly Besotted Sweet Roses stamp set
  • MFT Stitched Traditional Tags
  • Lil’ Inker Stitched Sentiment Flag Die
  • MFT Fresh Squeezed Chevron paper
  • Pretty Pink Posh sequins
  • Zig Clean Colour Real Brush pens
  • Embossing powder – white and silver
  • Dovecraft Cupcake Boutique Twine

Lasting Hearts Card Drive

Leave a Reply

