Handmade Cards

Watercolour Lifting

I thought I’d have a go at the watercolour lifting technique that Jennifer McGuire demonstrated on a recent card. I decided to make a masculine card with the technique.

Watercolour lifting with Clearly Besotted

How I made this card:

I chose to use my zig clean colour real brush pens to do the background. I scribbled blues and greens in stripes down a piece of watercolour card, then added water to blend them together.

Before adding the stamped images, the watercolour card needs to be completely dry. I used a heat tool to speed this up.

I used my homemade anti-static tool (baby powder in a pop sock! It works!) to add powder across the surface of the background piece. I then placed images from the Clearly Besotted It’s Your Birthday stamp set on to an acrylic block, and stamped it using Versamark ink all across the surface. I then heat embossed the images with clear embossing powder.

For the watercolour lifting technique, I added more water to the background piece. I then used a sheet of kitchen paper to lift away the water and some of the ink. This makes the background colour lighter, but doesn’t take any colour away from under the embossed images, so they stand out really nicely.

I cut the piece in half, and attached it using foam tape to a piece of white card, a little smaller than an A6 card.

For the ‘happy’ die, I blended some distress ink onto scrap card, then die cut the word from it. I die cut the word again using foam sheet, then cut this up and added foam only to the back of the word where it would touch the card front. This was much easier than trying to add fiddly foam tape to this intricate die. I attached the die cut word using multi matte medium adhesive.

To finish the card, I heat embossed the word ‘birthday’ in white embossing powder on to black card. I then added the sentiment to the card using black foam squares.

I had enough of the stamped background piece to make two cards, which is always a bonus!

Products used to make this card:

  • Zig clean colour real brush pens
  • Clearly Besotted It’s Your Birthday stamp set
  • Clearly Besotted A Little Sentimental stamp set
  • WPlus9 Happy Trio dies
  • Versamark ink
  • Hero Arts Clear embossing powder
  • WOW White embossing powder
  • Distress inks – peacock feather and chipped sapphire
Leave a Reply

