Handmade Cards

March sketch challenge

I’m playing along with the Seven Hills Crafts March challenge today. It’s a sketch challenge, which I always enjoy. I thought I’d combine two challenges with one card, so I’m using the colours from the MFT Colour Challenge too, which are greens, yellow and beige. I’ll link to both challenge pages at the end of this post.

MFT Fall Florals

I started by rounding the corners of an A6 card base in the top right and bottom left. I used the WRMK Corner Chomper at 1/2 inch size.

I found a piece of beige chevron paper from the MFT Fresh Squeezed Chevron paper pack. I cut this down and rounded the corners at 1/4 inch at top right and bottom left, to match the card base. I stuck this down on the card base, leaving a larger border at the bottom, which is where the sentiment will go.

Using a die from the MFT Stitched Traditional Tags die set, I cut a tag from white card stock, and used a small hole punch to create a hole in the tag for string.

I coloured the tag by blending distress inks in bundled sage, mowed lawn, and squeezed lemonade. I mixed some Ranger Perfect Pearl spray in the pearl colour with mowed lawn distress ink and flicked it across the tag. I’ve found that by mixing distress ink colours with the pearl coloured spray, I can create some lovely colours without buying more of the perfect pearl colours. It’s a great way to stretch your supplies.

Once the tag was dry, I added some string. Then I attached it to the card with foam tape, for some dimension.

The flowers and leaves are from the MFT Fall Florals stamp set. I stamped these in yellows and greens using Memento dye inks. I used the coordinating dies to cut them out. I arranged them on the card and used micro dots and foam tape to attach. I added some details with Wink of Stella gold glitter and a white gel pen.

The sentiment stamp and die are from the recently released Avery Elle Sentimentals sets. These are coordinating dies with a range of sentiments. I think they are very useful to have on hand. I die cut the ‘celebrate’ die from gold glitter paper, and attached with liquid glue. I stamped the sentiment with Memento tuxedo black ink.

Finally, I added a sprinkling of Pretty Pink Posh sequins.

 mftstamps fall florals 
I’m entering this card in the following competitions:

      Seven Hills Crafts March 2016 challenge 

     MFT Color Challenge 41 

        8 thoughts on “March sketch challenge”

        1. Gorgeous card! Love the colors and the design, it’s so lovely! Thanks so much for playing in our Seven Hills Crafts challenge this month – I hope we’ll seen you again with your creations next month!

          Julia

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Wowsers – I am in love with your card. Your colours, your tag, your arrangment, I love it all….& NEEEEEED this stamp set! gorgeous card. Thanks so much for playing along with Seven Hills Crafts x

          Liked by 1 person

        Leave a Reply

        