Handmade Cards

Giving Cards as Gifts

I’ve been making so many cards this year, that I’m getting a surplus to my needs! To allow me to keep making cards without drowning in them, I’ve started making gift boxes to give away cards to family and friends. I think a box of handmade cards makes a wonderful gift.

img_1804

The gift box:

I won’t go into detail about making the card box as there are great instructions online. I will link below to a couple of sites that helped me.

I used the We R Memory Keepers Envelope Punch Board to make the gift box. The dimensions you need to make your own gift box will depend on the size of cards it needs to hold and how many cards you want to fit in a box.

My gift box hold 5-6 A6 cards, with space for a mini pen to fit in the side. I started with a 12×12 sheet of cardstock, and the dimensions I used are:

  • Card size: 25×25 cm
  • Punch 1: 9.2cm
  • Punch 2: 11.3cm

Unlike an envelope, you need to punch and score twice on each side to make an envelope box.

Once the box was made, I needed a way to close it. I experimented with ribbon fastening but I didn’t get on with it. Instead, I found some Velcro self adhesive dots which are inexpensive and work really well. The ones I got were from Amazon, size 13mm. Remember to get both hook and loop fastenings.

Gift card box
The tag:

For the tag, I cut a large tag from the MFT Die-namics stitched traditional tags. I stamped flowers and leaves from the MFT Fall Florals stamps in opposite corners. 

I then used the stamp set of the moment – Concord & 9th Sophisticated Script – to add the recipients name on the tag. This stamp set is amazing! It’s so easy to get the hand lettering look that is so popular right now. 

Links you may find useful:

  • Box Buster Use this to help work out dimensions for the card box and where to make the punches.
  • Card boxes video This link to Jennifer Mcguire’s website has instructions and a video on making a gift box
  • Velcro adhesive dots a link to the Velcro fastenings on Amazon
Leave a Reply

