Handmade Cards

Poppy Fairy

My niece is celebrating her 1st birthday this month.

Her mum (my sister) and I created a very special card for her. We wanted the card to feature a fairy surrounded by poppies. My sister sketched out a fun design and then I started work creating the card.

poppy fairy mygirllollipop.wordpress.com

Fairy: As I don’t have a fairy stamp set, my talented sister drew one for me to use. I imported her illustration into Adobe Illustrator to create a digital version. I printed out a template, then coloured each piece with promarkers and Karisma coloured pencils. I then cut and layered the pieces together. The skirt is created using a poppy from the MFT Delicate Pretty Poppies stamp set. The wings are vellum with details added using a Wink of Stella gold glitter pen.

Card Background: I blended on card distress inks in tumbled glass and salty ocean to create a blue gradient background.

Grass borders: I used watercolour paper on the more textured side and blended distress inks in bundled sage, mowed lawn, and pine needles. I added flicks of water and Ranger perfect pearls mixed with green distress ink. I cut two borders using the Avery Elle Dotted Border dies to create hills for the fairy to stand on.

Poppies: I stamped the poppies and leaves from the MFT Delicate Pretty Poppies stamp set onto white card using Memento Tuxedo Black dye ink. I coloured these first with promarkers, then added details with Karisma coloured pencils. 

For the stems, I used the bunting string die from the Avery Elle Bunting die set to cut long thin stems from dark green paper. This solved the problem of having to stamp stems directly on the background and allowed me to sit the stems amongst the grass panels.

Bunting: I blended distress inks in picked raspberry and squeezed lemonade on watercolour card. Then I cut a bunch of bunting flags from it using the small bunting die from the Avery Elle Bunting die set. I stamped letters on the bunting using the Avery Elle ‘Elle’s Alphas’ stamp set to spell my niece’s name. The bunting string and bows are cut from gold glitter paper.

Butterflies: I blended distress inks in yellow / orange colours and die cut small butterflies from it, using the smallest butterfly from the Lil’Inker Stitched Butterflies die set. I added detail with the gold glitter pen.

Finally I added a 1, die cut from the same distress ink background as the bunting, using a die from the Avery Elle ‘Elle-Ments Dies Count On It’. I added a die cut foam number behind to pop it up.

I’m really thrilled with this card. There were a lot of elements to create, colour, and cut out to make it, and it was fun to collaborate with my sister on a special card for her daughter.

I’m entering this card into the following competition:

2 thoughts on “Poppy Fairy”

Leave a Reply

