CAS, Handmade Cards

Inlaid Die Challenge

I’m joining in with a couple of challenges today – Addicted to CAS, whose code word is ‘Inlaid Dies’, and the MFT Color Challenge, which has a palette of oranges, blue and grey.

mftstamps delicate pretty poppies

I thought I’d use the MFT Delicate Pretty Poppies stamps and die set. I die cut two poppies from a piece of white card. I then stamped in grey ink the stems and leaf from the set.

I blended distress inks in abandoned coral and tumbled glass on to the die cut poppies. I decided the blue should be stronger so I also added some salty ocean blue distress ink. Once the colour was added, I stamped the flower outline images onto the die cuts. I originally stamped them in grey ink, but it wasn’t strong enough against the distress ink colouring, so I used a black fineliner pen to go over the outline. I also used the pen to add some detail to the centres of the flowers.

On an A6 card front, I stamped a striped edge in grey ink, using the Clearly Besotted Diagonal Stripes stamp set. 

I added adhesive to the card, then adhered it to the A6 card front. Next I added adhesive to the coloured poppies and inlaid them back in the die cut spaces.

I flicked some blue distress ink mixed with perfect pearls on the card, to add a bit more of the blue from the colour scheme.

For the sentiment, I heat embossed in white a greeting from Clearly Besotted A Little Sentimental stamp set on black card, then die cut it using the Lil’ Inker Stitched Sentiment Flag Die. I attached it to the card with foam tape.

I found some enamel dots to match the colour scheme, and added a few around the sentiment.

I’m entering this card into the following competitions:

  

  

    6 thoughts on “Inlaid Die Challenge”

    1. Gorgeous card, Gemma! I love how you blended your DI’s on the flowers and the gray diagonal stripes are the perfect touch! So happy you played along with us this week at Addicted to CAS!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Wow! Gemma, your card is so pretty! Love that you coloured only the flower buds and kept the rest of the card white. Enamel dots and splatters add enough interest without disturbing. Many thanks for joining us at Addicted to CAS Challenge.

      Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

    