CAS, Handmade Cards

CAS(E) This Sketch #175

I’m playing along with the CAS(E) This Sketch challenge today.

wplus9 watercolour anemones

I started by stamping on watercolour card the large floral image from the WPlus9 Watercolour Anemones stamp set. I used pumice stone distress ink. As distress inks aren’t really meant for stamping, it gives a much looser watercolour style to the image.

I then stamped the smaller flower and leave images over the top, using bundled sage and abandoned coral distress inks. I added a touch of water to soften the stamping.

For the sentiment, I die cut from black card and gold glitter paper, the ‘celebrate’ from the Avery Elle Sentimental die set. I layered these together, with the gold glitter sentiment offset below the black.

I thought I’d try a new technique for me, that I’ve seen others use. That is to add some metallic thread to a card beneath a sentiment. I had some gold metallic thread so cut a length and wound it in a circle, before adhering to the card with some Ranger multi matte medium.  I added the sentiment over the top of the thread with the same glue.

I cut down the watercolour card, then attached it to an A6 card base. To finish the card, I added some Wink of Stella glitter to the flowers and some clear sequins around the sentiment.

I’m entering this card into the following challenge:

4 thoughts on “CAS(E) This Sketch #175”

  1. What a beautiful card! I adore the colours you’ve chosen to use and love the clean and simple style! Thank you so much for sharing your project and for playing along with us over on the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

