Handmade Cards

June Inspiration and Sketch Challenges

I’m joining in with two competitions with today’s card. The Altenew June Inspiration Challenge, and the Seven Hills Crafts June Sketch Challenge.

altenew peony bouquet

I began by heat embossing in white the outline images from the Altenew Peony Bouquet stamp set. I used yellow and green inks to stamp the rest of the layers, then die cut them out using the coordinating dies. I put these aside to work on the background.

On a piece of white card, I blended distress inks in squeezed lemonade and bundled sage into opposite corners. I left the middle without ink. I ran this through my die cut machine with the Lil’Inker Woodgrain cover die, then attached it to an A6 card base.

I arranged my flowers and leaves on the card, following the challenge sketch. Once I was happy, I stuck them down. I used foam tape to add dimension to the largest flower and also the flower at the top.

I chose a sentiment from the Altenew Birthday Greetings stamp set. I heat embossed it in gold on vellum, the die cut it out using one of the Lawn Fawn Everyday Sentiment Banner dies. I die cut another banner from gold glitter paper, to layer behind the vellum. I added some glue behind the sentiment so it wouldn’t show when I attached it to the card.

Finally I added plenty of sparkle with a glitter pen and some clear sequins.

I’m entering this card into the following competitions:


4 thoughts on “June Inspiration and Sketch Challenges”

  1. Oh wow. This is absolutely stunning. So beautiful, i am in love with your card! Thanks so much for playing along with Seven Hills Crafts this month x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

