Christmas, Handmade Cards

Little Red Riding Hood at Christmas

This year I’m making my own Christmas cards, so decided I also wanted to make special Christmas cards for my nieces and nephew.

The Clearly Besotted Once Upon a Time stamp set has fun fairytale characters and sentiments. I thought the Red Riding Hood character would look great in a winter forest scene.

Christmas cards for nieces and nephew

 

For the layout, I was inspired by a fabulous card by Nichol Magourik. I’ll add a link to her card at the end of this post.

As I was making two identical cards, I started by assembling all the pieces. For each card I would need:

  • Christmas trees from the Concord & 9th O Christmas Tree stamp set, fussy cut out.
  • A Red Riding Hood character from the Clearly Besotted Once Upon a Time stamp set, coloured with promarkers and fussy cut out.
  • A wolf character, coloured with promarkers  and fussy cut out. The stamp set has a wolf character behind the three little pigs, so I partially stamped the wolf image.
  • Two rectangles from white card. From one of the white rectangles, I die cut hills using the Avery Elle Dotted Border dies, two hills per card.
  • A larger rectangle from vellum.

On the vellum, I stamped a greeting from the O Christmas Tree stamp set, heat embossing in gold. I added snowflakes from the MFT Holiday Greetings stamp set, heat embossing them in white.

On one of the white rectangles, I stamped some Christmas trees so they would show behind the background. I then adhered the largest of the two white hills to the bottom of the rectangle. I added a strip of foam tape at the bottom of the hill, then stuck the vellum over the top.

I adhered the next hill on top of the vellum. I arranged on the card the die cut trees, Red Riding Hood character, and a wolf peeking out from behind a tree, adhering them with roller tape. I also added some foam tape behind the characters, underneath the vellum, so the vellum was more secure.

Finally, I attached the whole panel to a white card base with strong double sided tape.

I’m thrilled with how these cards turned out. The characters are so cute and the wolf peeking out from the tree does put a smile on my face.

Christmas cards for nieces and nephew

Here’s a link to the awesome card that inspired the layout: Winter Critters Scene Card

Leave a Reply

